ESXi 5 on VirtualBox

09May12

I just started studying for my VCP certification and needed an easy way to run the free ESXi 5 Hypervisor for learning purposes.

I already had Oracle’s free VirtualBox product on my Windows 7 x64 laptop. Some Googling and I found a ‘recipe’ that worked for me and allowed me to get it working.

VirtualBox version 4.1.14
VMware ESXi  Hypervisor 5.0 Update 1

Create a VirtualBox VM with at least the following

OS type – Linux RedHat (64 bit)
IO APIC Enabled
2 CPUs
SATA Storage controller
Hard Disk 10GB
Intel virtual NIC
2GB of memory

The one restriction seems to be that you can only create 32-bit guests in ESXi on VirtualBox.

No Responses Yet to “ESXi 5 on VirtualBox”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

